Little Black Dog

dog1 copy

“I have found that when you are deeply troubled,there are things you get from the silent devoted
companionship of a dog that you can get from no
other source.” – Doris Day

I always wanted a dog ever since I was a little girl. Any kind of dog that can be my friend and companion. A dog that I can play with and I know who will always be there for me. I didn’t get my own dog when I was 17, she was my father’s present.

She came unexpectedly and I never thought that I would really own a dog at that time.We were having a difficult time at that year but still we can manage. I was busy preparing my things for our school trip, it was getting dark and it’s raining. Dad came home from one of his business around town and when he came in he was holding something inside his jacket; it can be clearly seen because of the bulge. Of course I was curious and when she poke her head outside my dad’s jacket, I smiled.

She was so small coming out of my dad’s jacket. She looks curious and scared to be here, her new home. Sniffing around and poking her nose around her new house. when I hold her, it feels like I was holding a cat. She looks at me with those cute puppy eyes, and one kiss done it all, she chooses me and she’s mine.

She is black with a diamond white patch on her breast. Small ears and a cute puppy eyes with lots of energy. She loves to run in our backyard and chased poor cats that happened to pass by our house. She responded with her tail wags when I call her name and a friendly bark. She knows where to wait for her food and she loves bath on a warm day plus an extra massage. She doesn’t like strangers at our house and she will
bark non-stop at them until they goes away.

My dad named her Bilha it’s a Biblical name, it’s one of the concubine of Jacob and yes, we have a mutt named Jacob but we only got him later after 4 years.

She’s very sensitive especially when it comes to her family.She knows how to comfort those who are sad or feeling down, she will put her two paws on my lap and look at me with those eyes as if she’s telling me that “I will never be alone.” She would sit by my side and look at me telling me “Come on, I will listen and I will not judge you.” So I ended up telling her my pains and troubles, she will put her head on my lap  and kiss me. She’s the sweetest dog I ever had.

“He is your friend, your partner, your defender,
your dog. You are his life, his love,his leader.
He will be yours, faithful and true, to the last
beat of his heart. You owe it to him to be worthy
of such devotion.” -Unknown

Now she’s getting old but still she’s strong and with lots of energy. She’s still sweet and likes to kiss  me. We bought a new dog few years later, little mutt  with white and brown pattern whenever we are petting the little mutt she will get jealous and push her out of the way. Yes, dogs can get jealous after all they have feelings how they can comfort their human if they don’t.

She is still my little black dog, even if there’s a new dog in our family.

“Dogs have given us their absolute all. We are
the center of their universe. We are the focus of
their love and faith and trust. They serve us
in return for scraps. It is without a doubt the
best deal man has ever made.’ – Roger Caras

Author: yenzzakura

I am a constant day dreamer with endless possibilities. I am a book reader living my days in the pages of the books. I am an artist seeing the beauty of the world in a different perspectives. I am a writer putting my thoughts in ink and paper. I am a storyteller imagination is my greatest asset.

Leave a Reply

