What LOVE is – Love is Patient, Love is Kind

It’s that time of year again, February that we all celebrated as love month. Where you can see decorated hearts everywhere, Chocolates are being given and sweet lovers all around. That’s what majority of people see about love, showing sweet emotions to each other’s. It’s a sad thing when we limit what is Love because in it’s truest and purest sense Love is more than just that.

In the Bible we have the perfect definition of what is love. Love is more than just words it needs action. “Love is not a noun to be defined a but a verb.”

For this love month, I will post what is love from the Bible’s definition in 1 Corinthians 13

Here’s the first one – Love is Patient, Love is kind.

We all hear stories about how grandparents are being put into a home by their families. It’s a practical solution, especially in today’s busy world. In our family, that is not the case which I am very thankful for. Since all of my aunts and uncles agreed not to send him to a nursing home or hire someone to take care of him. when my grandfather who is 90 yrs old about that time, we return back to our old house in town because of that we’re the one who took care of him.

We renovated the room where my grandfather will stay, dad constructed a new bathroom inside that room that would be convenient for him and we painted the room to give it a fresh atmosphere. My parents gave us a heads up on what we expect when grandfather would move in with us.

Grandfather had Alzheimer’s but his overall health is fine, his eyesight back then is even better than mine; he can still read without any eyeglasses. Here’s the challenge in taking care of grandpa, we need to be really really really be patience especially with his forgetfulness and his different actions. Some days he would act like a 5 years old child and most days he would act in his young teenage years pulling mischief around the house. Somedays he would be in his young adult years always on the verge of wanting to leave the house and go somewhere he used to visit in his youth.

Here’s our daily routine I woke him up for breakfast, help him get out of bed since he had trouble standing up on his own and he will ALWAYS say thank you after that. After eating his breakfast give him his medicine. He will either watch tv in the morning or go back to sleep, sometimes he watch people in front of our house often times when he does that he’s saying something about those passersby, we know because he’s always shouting when he does that. when he’s in the mood to exercise he would run around the house.

Overall we were happy that grandpa is living here with us and with that we got the chance to know more about him. Not all days were easy and fun because some days it requires a lot of patience especially in taking care of someone you love.We need to be patient when he eats, sometimes he can be messy and slow. We need to be patient in cleaning his room. We need to be patient when asking him to stop shouting at the passersby. we need to be patient when he’s teasing all of us or when he’s
making a mess around the house. Despite all of those things that he did, we still love him and respect him.

When there are days that I really need my patient, I always think back in the days when I was a baby and he’s the one who take care of me. My father was abroad and my mom was busy at our little ice cream shop, so I am left in the care of my grandparents. I know taking care of a baby is not that easy, I
also became a full-time nanny taking care of my 5-month-old nephew back then. I always remind myself when I am having a hard time taking care of my grandfather, back in the days when he’s having a hard time putting me to sleep, back in the days when I am being messy while feeding me.

To love someone is more than reciprocating them the feeling, it’s giving, doing and acting for that person’s sake. Like what grandpa did to me many years ago having the patience to take care of me it’s more than a responsibility it’s his love towards his granddaughter. The same thing goes for me it’s not only my responsibility, it’s my love towards my grandpa.

Be patient to show that you love someone. Especially to the elderly please, give them the patience, love and respect that they deserve, remember someday you will be one too.

Author: yenzzakura

I am a constant day dreamer with endless possibilities. I am a book reader living my days in the pages of the books. I am an artist seeing the beauty of the world in a different perspectives. I am a writer putting my thoughts in ink and paper. I am a storyteller imagination is my greatest asset.

Leave a Reply

