What Love Is… Love Hope’s

It was in the early years when the technologies were just being discovered and being invented.  The communication wasn’t that easy unlike today with the advancement of internet and all. Our way of communication back then was thru writting, and there was something magical about it. Letters and writing will always be priceless, timeless and you can see the writer’s emotion as he writes.

We were cleaning our old house back then 6 years ago since my grandmother died that place was not in use except for storing some stuff. It was really creepy when we first opened that house, full of dust and the place looks really old. As days goes on and we continue to clean the house throwing some old things that were broken or we’re not going to use. It’s a pity that we had to throw some of those old things because it was like we travel back in time, I saw old radio and old mp3 player. Old comic books and magazines, seeing the kind of fashion they had looks interesting. Last but not the least the one thing that I did not throw away are letters, letters from my father
to my mother, grandmother and older sister.

I didn’t let my mother know that I am keeping the letters or there were any letters at all. You know the movie and novel by Nicholas Sparks “The Longest Ride”, where the old man has all these letters for his dearly beloved, every time they read it was like going back in time. That’s exactly how I felt when I read my father’s letters, it was beautiful the way he wrote those letters made me feel like I am going back in time. The way he wrote like he was talking to them, and I can hear his voice. It’s kinda cheesy and cliche but that’s the beauty of letters it’s both romantic and cheesy. Just think of the time spent to write for your love ones, it was like typing in email but what makes it special was the anticipation of waiting for that letter. It takes weeks
sometimes a month before that letter reaches the destination and when your loved ones receive it, just think of the excitement of reading it. I know there’s always something special when it comes to letters, it made me think of old romantic movies.

My dad was working overseas back then, he’s one of the groups who build the military based in Saudi Arabia around the 80’s. He also traveled to Singapore for 2 years during the early 90’s. That time there was no cell phone, no email, and no skype to communicate quickly with a press of a  finger. The only way to communicate was thru letters. I learned more about them in reading those letters than asking them personally. Sometimes what the mouth can’t speak the hand will write,
since the only way they can speak to each other that time is thru writing letters it was made to feel that they are talking to each other.

LDR or Long Distance Relationship these days should be easy, talking to you partner is just in the press of you fingers. There are happy couples even though they are apart but often times I see is the complaint that their loved one is far away, there’s also the doubt of his or her faithfulness. Just like in the old days waiting weeks and months for the letter, we should have the patience and hope of receiving a message or a call from our partner.

Hope they say, is dangerous but hopes is the only thing worth holding on especially if it’s concerns your loved one. Love is patience, Love is Kind, Love believes and Love never loses hope.

Author: yenzzakura

I am a constant day dreamer with endless possibilities. I am a book reader living my days in the pages of the books. I am an artist seeing the beauty of the world in a different perspectives. I am a writer putting my thoughts in ink and paper. I am a storyteller imagination is my greatest asset.

Leave a Reply

